National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI)


Founded in the year 1930, the National Academy of Sciences, India is the oldest Science Academy of the country and is located at 5 Lajpatrai Road, Allahabad-211002. The main objective of the Academy was to provide a national forum for the publication of research work carried out by Indian scientists and to provide opportunities for exchange of views among them. The Academy has 17 chapters, located at Ahmedabad, Allahabad, Bangalore, Bundelkhand Extended Region, Chandigarh, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jammu, Kharagpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, N.E. Chapter (Shillong), Patna, Uttarakhand and Varanasi. These Chapters also organize lectures and science communication activities for the students of schools and colleges in their cities/regions.

NASI, Jammu & Kashmir Chapter

The NASI, Jammu & Kashmir chapter has been reactivated in order to create an adequate impact of National Academy of Sciences (India) in the state of J&K.:

Dr. Ram Vishwakarma, Chairman
Director CSIR-IIIM Jammu.

Prof. Ravinder Nath Gohil, Secretary
Former Professor of Botany,
University of Jammu, Jammu

Main Objective :-

• To arrange lectures/ discussions/ seminars/ symposia on the current & future Sciences/ technology and science education and their impact on society
• Maintain Library of Academy publications for reference.
• Work as a liaison office between local chapter & academy headquarters

To organize various activities of this chapter the following committee (from IIIM Jammu & Srinagar) has been constituted:-
• Asha Chaubay
• Zahoor Ahmad Parry
• Fayaz Ahmad Malik
• Sandeep Bharate
• Debraj Mukherji
• Sumit Gandhi
• Parvaiz Qazi
• Nasheman Ashraf
• Amit Nargotra (Convenor)

 Dr. Y S Bedi will be the coordinator of the activities of this chapter.