CSIR-IIIM Scientists awarded "SCIENTIST OF THE YEAR" award

Team of scientists & concerned staff members of CSIR-Indian Institute of Integrative Medicine, Jammu has been awarded Scientist of the Year Award by Essential Oil Association of India, Delhi for the extension activities of aromatic crops during Asian Aroma Ingredient Congress Aroma Bearing Sector at Hotel Leela Ambience, Delhi on April 22-24, 2016.

The award was given for diversification of high value aroma bearing Lavender cultivation from Kashmir to Bhaderwah region of District Doda of Jammu & Kashmir state with the maintaining of quality and yield of essential oil.

Secondary CSIR-IIIM has also extended cultivation of Gereniol rich variety RRL-CN-5 successfully in Kutch area of Gujarat under salt affected soil. The essential oil industries highly demanded by essential oil industries for flavour fragrance & pharmaceutical purposes.

The award was given to the dynamic leadership of Dr. Ram Vishwakarma, Director, CSIR-IIIM Jammu with the team leader Dr. Suresh Chandra and team members Dr. Narendra Kumar, Mr. S.R. Meena, Dr. Parvaiz Qazi, Mrs. Kushal Bindu, Dr. M.K. Verma, Dr. Phalisteen Sultan, Mr. Rajendra Gochar, Mr. Chandra Pal Singh, Dr. Shahid Rasool, Mr. Brijendra Koli, Mr. Pratipal Singh, Mr. Vijay Kumar and Dr. A.K. Shahi (Ex-Scientist).