"Jigyasa"-student-scientist-connect-programme at CSIR-IIIM

Photo Gallery
One day workshop 'JIGYASA' was organised at CSIR-IIIIM. Jigyasa, a student- scientist connect programme aimed at nurturing the curiosity of young minds to inculcate scientific temper among the students. Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), has joined hands with Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS) to implement this programme. The focus is on connecting school students and scientists so as to extend student’s classroom learning with that of a very well planned research laboratory based learning.

The programme was expected to connect 1151 KVS with 38 national labs of CSIR-IIIM and will target 100,000 students and nearly 1000 teachers annually. The programme 'JIGYASA' commenced with the highly motivated and welcoming address by Er. Rajneesh Anand, Chief Scientist CSIR-IIIM, Jammu. He presented the highlights of the day's activities and threw light on the significance of the programme.

S Sambanna (DC, KVS, Jammu) was the chief guest on the occasion and other prominent luminaries present were Dr. Suresh Chandra, Chief Scientist and Er. Abdul Rahim, Principal Scientist & Head PME Div. CSIR-IIIM, Jammu. Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest, said that to inculcate the scientific temper among the students we have to make them aware of effect of the science on the society. He also said that science has played a very important role in changing our lives.

About 300 KVS students and 20 teachers drawn from 23 KVS of Jammu region are attending the programme and workshop, respectively.
The programme provided an enriching opportunity to the teachers and students to visit the different labs and interact with the eminent scientists working with CSIR-IIIM.

150 students and 10 teacher participants hailing from different KVS of Srinagar also visited the CSIR-IIIM, Srinagar branch and interacted with the scientists and research scholars.

The presentation and demonstrations were given by the reputed scientists of the institute Dr. Syed Riyaz-Ul- Hassan, Dr. Parthasarthi Das, Dr. Asha Chaubey, Dr. S. Tasduq Abdullah and Dr. Sumit Gandhi.